Policy, Planning & Best Practice in Prevention and Intervention

The Minnesota Division for Early Childhood

(MN DEC) is a statewide membership organization for those who work with or on behalf of young children with disabilities and other special needs.

MN DEC promotes policies and advances evidence-based practices that support families and enhance the optimal development of young children who have or are at risk for developmental delays and disabilities.

MN DEC Spotlight 

Message from Peggy Kemp, DEC Executive
 Director F
ebruary 8, 2017
New Secretary of Education | New DEC Policy and Advocacy Council

Check for Job Postings on our MNDEC website:
Job Postings  New  Job Postings added May, 2017. 
Prospective Employers:  Please go to our Job Postings page for a link to submit your postings for consideration for posting on our website.

     It is MN DEC's mission to promote policies and advancement of evidence-based practices. We continue to work in partnership with the Centers of Excellence for Young Children with Disabilities so those in Minnesota who work with or on behalf of children with disabilities will have current information and connections at their fingertips. MN DEC is excited to provide information on our statewide activities and policies and practices in the field of early intervention and early childhood special education through this website! Join us on Facebook and Twitter too!

We welcome your feedback, questions, and ideas for improvement of this website and MN DEC activities.  Watch the MN DEC Spotlight!  You may see someone you know in the future!

MNDEC Board Directory 

News & Events  

Attention: Job Postings added May, 2017.  

Thank you to all who participated in MN DEC's 2017 Spring Practitioners' Conference!  Check out the tweets and pictures on
 Facebook and Twitter  

Mark your calendars: 

June 20-21, 2017 MN Early Intervention Summer Institute
October 4-6, 2017  DEC National Conference in Portland Oregon
October 11-13, 2017 MN ECSE Leadership Conference at Rutgers
October 19-20 MEA
October 25-27, 2017 MASE Fall Leadership Conference
March 8, 2018 MN ECSE Spring Leadership Forum
March 8-9, 2018 DEC ECSE Practitioners Conference
(evening of March 8 and all day March 9)

Regional Inclusion Institutes
Intended Audience:
District level teams of preschool education and general education leaders (e.g. Head Start School Readiness, childcare, etc) with at least 1 practitioner representative from each program. Teams should be no larger than 6.

Intended Outcomes:
Identify the current system of inclusion within the district.
Identify a common vision of high quality inclusion within the district.
Identify possible challenges to preschool inclusion as well as possible solutions. 
Develop an action plan for preschool inclusion.
Identify needed supports and strategies to implement the action plan. 
Locations (all sessions will run from 9 AM-3 PM with lunch provided):

 Friday April 7th
Sauk Rapids Government Center250 Summit Avenue North
Sauk Rapids 56379
Monday April 10th
South Central Service Cooperative2075 Lookout Drive
North Mankato 56003 
 Monday May 1st
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 W
Roseville 55113
 Monday May 8th
Hibbing Community College
1515 E 25th St
Hibbing 55746
 Friday May 12th
Lakes Country Service Cooperative
1001 E. Mt. Faith
Fergus Falls 56537

Registration (registration closes 1 week prior to the event):
Registration should be sent via email to jennifer.moses@state.mn.us. The email must include the district and general education program names, names and titles of each participant and the location desired. Registration is accepted on a first come, first served basis. Space is limited. A confirmation will be sent upon receipt of registration.

Do you know someone that has let his or her membership lapse?  Do you know someone that should be a member, but for whatever reason they are not?  Please share this link with your colleagues and friends -

CEC is aware of the cost issues for some members and has made a tiered system for joining:  
Premier ($205) Full ($115) Basic ($65).    There is an additional cost of joining the DEC subdivision for Full and Basic ($50) and for Premier ($15).  The costs for students to join are even cheaper.

Please  follow us on Facebook and Twitter

MNDEC Newsletter  MNDEC 2017 Spring Newsletter, April
      Archived MNDEC Newsletter    

Visit Twitter for the latest MNDEC news: https://twitter.com/mndec_info
Also, check out hashtag:  #mndec14
  Return to top of Page

Sign Up for The MN DEC Newsletter



Centers of Excellence for...

An initiative designed to regionalize professional development systems in Minnesota.  Visit MNCOE website

MN DEC Calendar of Events

Find upcoming events of interest to members involved in the MN DEC.  View the Calendar

For MN DEC Membership Info, Questions & Comments...

We welcome your feedback, your questions and your ideas.  Contact Us
Website Builder